Generation to generation

I’m taking a wee detour from the Love Dare today … there’s no real reason apart from the fact I’ve been thinking about “family” today.  It has been a quiet, lazy day in the GG HQ and it’s been much appreciated, I’ve enjoyed having time for reflection.

It’s now over fourteen years since Mr GG & I tied the knot.  We’ve had many, many good times along the way sprinkled with heartaches that have, I believe, drawn us closer.  One thing has been missing from our marriage however and that is the presence of my mother-in-law, Pam.

Pam died three years before Mr GG & I became a couple so I never had the benefit of her wisdom or ever really knew her well … I feel the poorer for that.  Anyone who knew my mother-in-law speaks highly of her … she was kind, loving, wise and loved her Lord.

A wee while back Mr GG found a piece of paper somewhere (I think in his Mum’s Bible but I’m not altogether certain about that) on which she’d written a list of “sayings” … it’s been stuck on the wall in our kitchen for months but now I think it’s time to record her words … a piece of paper is easily lost!  So, here goes:

  1. Make the best of all that comes and the least of all that goes.
  2. Children need models more than they need critics.
  3. Only a child can catch a raindrop or see any value in puddles.
  4. Don’t count your years … make your years count.
  5. If a man sees both sides of a problem you know that none of his money is tied up in it.
  6. The reason a dog has many friends is because he wags his tail instead of his tongue.
  7. Some people live by the “sheep syndrome” – nobody wants to be first to do anything.
  8. The great pleasure in life is doing what people say you can’t do.
  9. Success comes in cans, not in can’ts.
  10. Giving our best today is the recipe for a better tomorrow.
  11. So often we seek a change in our conditions, what we need is a change in our attitudes.
  12. Why can’t life’s big problems happen when we are teenagers and know everything?
  13. What you see often depends on what you are looking for.
  14. As I grow older I pay less attention to what people say, I just watch what they do.
  15. Happiness consists not in possessing much but in being content with what we possess.
  16. How well you like hard work often depends on whether you are doing it or paying for it.
  17. The trouble with experience is that it usually teaches you something you didn’t really want to know.
  18. Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.
  19. Ideas bring in nothing unless carried out.
  20. A house is built by human hands, a home is built by human hearts.
  21. More knowledge enters your head through open ears than through an open mouth.
  22. There are two lasting bequests we can give our children, roots and wings.
  23. One of the greatest labour saving devices of today is tomorrow.
  24. The vision to see, the faith to believe and the will to do, will take you anywhere.
  25. You’ll be happier if you give people a bit of your heart than a piece of your mind.

My mother-in-law had a heart for her family and for the people around her … that, I believe, is clear in the sayings that she felt were important enough to record.   I love having this little bit of Pam’s wisdom in my home … I feel sad that I didn’t know her but like to think that she has an influence on my life none-the-less.

Leave a Reply

